The Sidney Prize and the Neilma Short Story Prize

The Sydney Prize honors leading global voices that promote peace with justice. The winner receives a cash prize and travel to Sydney for public lectures. The City of Sydney is a major supporter of the prize, which is awarded at a gala dinner and lecture. The winner is chosen by a panel of judges from the National Association of Scholars.

Sidney Prize winners tend to be well-recognized in their fields. They may be invited to speak at events and inspire others, and they can also use their prize money for projects that improve lives within their local community. In addition, they may receive recognition from local governments and organizations – like Lord Mayor Clover Moore of Sydney – for their work.

One of the most prestigious awards for long-form writing is the Sydney Prize, named after philosopher Sidney Hook. It honors essays that demonstrate the highest level of writing and intellectual integrity. Past winners have included Hilton Als writing for The New Yorker and Ed Yong writing for The Atlantic. The Hillman Foundation’s Sidney Awards also recognize journalists who use investigative reporting and deep storytelling to address social justice issues. Previous winners have included Rose Arce, Ta-Nehisi Coates and Ed Yong. The awards are given monthly and are announced on the second Wednesday of each month.

Another prominent prize is the Sydney Peace Prize, which is awarded by the Sydney Peace Foundation in Australia. It honors leaders who fight for the rights of people in oppressed nations and strive for global justice. The City of Sydney is a major sponsor of the prize, and the winner is given a public lecture in Sydney Town Hall.

Lastly, the Neilma Sydney Short Story Prize is a literary award sponsored by Overland magazine and the Malcolm Robertson Foundation. It offers one author a $5000 prize and publication in Overland, while two runners-up receive $750 awards. The judging committee for 2023 includes Patrick Lenton, Alice Bishop and Sara Saleh.

The Sydney Prize is named after a Dartmouth professor who inspired his students inside and outside of the classroom, embodying Phi Beta Kappa ideals with each class he taught and every life he touched. The prize honors whoever exhibits promise across three endeavors — scholarship, undergraduate teaching and leadership for liberal education — and is presented at the National Association of Scholars’ triennial Council meeting. The competition is open to all students from U.S. colleges and universities. The deadline to submit is April 30. For more information, visit the Sydney Prize website.